Management reorganization at DTU Chemistry

Tuesday 19 Mar 24


Erling Halfdan Stenby
Head of Department, Professor
DTU Chemistry
+45 45 25 20 12


Sophie Beeren
Associate Professor
DTU Chemistry
+45 45 25 21 23


Søren Kegnæs
DTU Chemistry
+45 45 25 24 02


Esben Thormann
DTU Chemistry
+45 45 25 24 39


A reorganization and changes in the leadership are aimed at equipping DTU Chemistry to address some of the significant challenges threatening human and planetary health. These changes came into effect on 1 March 2023.

Researchers at DTU Chemistry find solutions to some of the biggest challenges we are facing, including: Development of pharmaceuticals to ensure a healthier population. Alternatives to environmentally harmful materials we would like to replace. Ways to make us independent of fossil fuels and capture CO2.


“In light of the societal challenges we face, we needed to clearly signal where our expertise lies in addressing society’s major issues,” says Head of Department Erling Stenby.


As part of this effort, the institute has undergone a reorganization and a generational management handover. With the restructuring the institute has gone from two to three sections, making it more visible to the outside world where they should turn when collaborating with researchers at DTU Chemistry.

The sections are:


  • Organic Chemistry, which contributes to the development of new chemical synthesis methods, pharmaceutical chemistry, and the chemistry-biology interface. The Head of Section is Associate Professor Sophie Beeren, who is both a researcher studying the use of enzymes in chemical synthesis and a pharmaceutical chemistry lecturer.
  • Inorganic Chemistry, which focuses particularly on green transition and catalysis. The Head of Section is Professor Søren Kegnæs, whose research aims to develop materials and catalysts that can produce green chemicals and fuels and exploit CO2.
  • Physical Chemistry, which is particularly engaged in calculation and measurement of the properties of molecules in mixtures and products. The Head of Section is Professor Esben Thormann, who conducts research into advanced materials for, for example, sensors and medico-technology.

Read more about it here: Management reorganization at DTU Chemistry

News and filters

Get updated on news that match your filter.